Spicing things up!

As i mentioned before in this forum, i just started a small garden. It’s still very smalll and doesn’t have a lot of variety, so i’m looking for some suggestion of what i should harvest. Even though i would love to have some plants to decorate my backyard, my main goal with this garden is to produce vegetables and spices that i can use for my own consumption. Does anyone have any suggestions of what spices are easy to grow and taste good? Mind you i’m not an expert, i had my food prepared using industrialized spices for almost all of my life so, even a simple one could really blow my mind. Different kinds of peppers, strong ones (i heard that indian food is really well seasoned with a great variety of spices to prepare their meals so, that could be interesting.) anything really.

Oh, if you have any experience growing any of these, i would love to learn more about where to get them, ideal environment, weather, temperature, how to treat it and how to store it. Thanks!

2 Likes

You should definitely try growing tomatoes. That plant doesn’t need too much care, it just grows haha. I think that depends on the weather.
My plant has grown like 20 tomatoes in 1 month. Thats crazy!
You have to take care of pests, that can kill your plant.

Check this guide out, it was really helpful for me: https://www.almanac.com/plant/tomatoes

Also red pepper is really easy too, as well as cucumbers.

1 Like

Yes, depending on your area and when you are planning to start the garden, there are a variety of vegetables you can produce. For herb and layout ideas, here are some great lists:

1. https://blog.gardenloversclub.com/edible/herb-garden-ideas/
  2. 40+ Small Garden Ideas - Small Garden Designs

I love the ideas of vertical, tiered, spiral and square foot gardening - check them out! It allows you to fit a great variety of herbs or small plants in a given area. Another great benefit is it creates an individual environment for each plant and prevents moisture loss.